Red Bull KTM Factory Rider Toby Price has won the 2019 Dakar Rally by over 9 minutes, marking the second time the Australian has won the world’s toughest Rally Race.

Stage 7 – 8th
Overall Position – 3rd

The start of Stage 7’s 64km liason was delayed and later halted momentarily midway through the 323km times special due to fog causing safety issues for the competitors.

Despite his injury, Price battled on to take 8th in the Stage and made up time on the leaders and successfully defended his 3rd place in the Overall standings.

The day has gone well, it ended up with a lot of us riding in a group today. We did get lost at one point and lose a few minutes but all-in-all things are going ok. Obviously, my wrist is still giving me some pain, but we’re past the point of no return now – there’s no stopping. I’m still sitting in third overall with just a few stages left so I’ll continue taking each day as it comes and keep on fighting.”

Stage 8 – 3rd
Overall Position – 1st

Price lead for the first time in the 2019 Dakar Rally as the previous leader Ricky Brabec went out of contention with an engine failure.

The 2016 Dakar Rally Champion made a strong start to the 360km special riding from San Juan de Marcona to Pisco and was 3:30s ahead of the field at Waypoint 3.

Price is now sitting 1:03s ahead of the next Rider in the overall standings.

I knew today had to count so I gave it everything – the wrist is really starting to sting now! It was a long special at 360 kilometres but I got through it and I’m pleased with how the whole stage went. Just two days left so I’ll get some rest tonight and attack again tomorrow. When the helmet goes on, you know I’m just going to do the best I can.”

Stage 9 – Position 2nd
Overall Position – 1st

Price finished 2nd the Stage 9 313km Pisco loop special stage only 1 second slower than Pablo Quintanilla and with the exact same time as KTM team-mate Matthias Walkner.

Price remains the lead rider in the Rally overall, 1:02s from thesecond placed Quintanilla while Walkner is 6:53s behind.

The top 3 riders are sitting over half an hour in front of the rest of the Rally.

There is only 1 Stage remaining in the 2019 Dakar Rally, the Lima 112km special stage with 247km liaison.

I got through stage nine today where we had the mass-start. There was no chance to make up any time or lose time really, I just had to stick with the group. Tomorrow is only a 100-kilometre stage, but I think it’s going to feel more like 300. The boys are really going to up their pace and all I can do is try my best once more and try to stay with them. If I can get through tomorrow and finish on the podium, I’ll be more than happy.”

Stage 10 – Position 1st
Overall Position – 1st

Leading the overall standings by just over 1 minute going into the final stage, Price had no choice but to give his all in the short 112km timed special.

The reverse Grid Stage meant Price was the last Rider to begin the Stage and had to push to claim his only Stage win of the Rally and the Dakar Title.

Despite riding all 10 Stages of the Rally with a broken scaphoid, Price’s consistent riding with minimal mistakes meant he would become the 2019 Dakar Rally Champion.

Following Price claiming his recent title as the 2018 FIM Cross Country Rallies World Champion, the Australian is now also a Dakar Champion for the second time.

It feels amazing to stand here knowing I have won the Dakar, I don’t think it has really sunk in yet. I thought at the beginning of the event I would be lucky to even make the rest day. My Red Bull KTM bike has been amazing, I want to say a big thank you to my mechanic for that. The whole crew here do an amazing job – without them I would be no one. The team put in so much work on the lead up to the event and when we get here it’s down to me out there on the track so it feels amazing to be able to reward them all with this result and keep KTM’s winning streak going.”

It was so tight going into the stage this morning, both Pablo and I knew we would have to push right from the start. Unfortunately for him, he went too hard off a dune but he really deserves a win too – everyone that starts this race deserves a win. The plan now is to go home and relax for a little while, I know I need to have my wrist seen to, so I’ll get that sorted and then it won’t be long before we start it all over again.”


1. Toby Price (AUS), KTM, 33:57:16
2. Matthias Walkner (AUT), KTM, 34:06:29 +9:13
3. Sam Sunderland (GBR), KTM, 34:10:50 +13:34
4. Pablo Quintanilla (CHL), Husqvarna, 34:18:02 +20:46
5. Andrew Short (USA), Husqvarna, 34:41:26 +44:10